Enter Maiden Broadcasting Awards, Unveils Jury

 9,410 total views,  4 views today

Jury for the maiden edition of the first ever Nigerian Broadcasting Awards (TNBA) was on Monday unveiled by the organisers of the event slated for Abuja in November.

The Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria (BON) unveiled the seven-member panel at a briefing in Lagos on Monday.

The maiden edition of the award, aimed at celebrating excellence in broadcasting, will feature 13 categories each in radio and television.

Members of the panel include Emeka Mba, former director-general of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), as well as top broadcasters, Deborah Omowunmi Odutayo and Aro Leonard.

Others are Mallam Bello Sule, organiser of the 1988 Nigerian Festival of Television Programmes (NIFETEP); Lady Susan Ngozi Agbo of the Advertising Regulatory Council of Nigeria (ARCON), Kayode Qosim Olowu, representative of the Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) and Stella Erhunmwunsee of the NBC.

Speaking on the panel, John Ugbe, BON chairman and CEO of MultiChoice Nigeria, said the judges were putting their reputation and pedigree on the line to ensure that the award process was credible.

Said he: “With all the training we provide and investment we make in broadcasting, we’ve found out that the best motivation is becoming the best at what you do.

“That’s a key driver for coming up with this credible awards ceremony that rewards the best from a professional perspective.

“We are also extending this to the audience who would decide the best in each category with their votes.

“This award will celebrate the very best in broadcasting across the country. We believe this will encourage practitioners to put their best and energy into their works.

“It’s going to be the biggest award show in Africa, as it will be broadcast live on all BON member stations. We, therefore, seek the support of sponsors, as we will do this to the highest level of professionalism and excellence.

“We have the experience and expertise to put together an award that others will learn from”.

The BON chairman said entries for the awards would commence on September 1 and end after three weeks.

Share This

Related posts

Leave a Comment